Overview

  • What are user roles?
  • Your Team
  • Your Manager and Delegates
  • Communication Preferences

What Are User Roles?

A user role defines the permissions that a user can take. All permissions in Aphex Planner are controlled at a project level such that any user will have a role specific to that project.

Roles are controlled by a Project Administrator from the User and Team section of Project Administration Jump To ↦.

As a rule, a project must have at least one Project Administrator (so you don't get locked out!) and by default, the creator of a project is assigned the Role of Project Administrator.

Your Team

Construction projects are massive undertakings and schedules can be complex. Aphex Planner helps remove this complexity by allowing all users to focus on the part of the plan that matters.

Your Team are the people you work with each day. The people you plan and coordinate work with. Even your manager or direct reports. By configuring Your Team, Planner will always show your work alongside the work of your team so you can keep track of whats happening.

Configuring Your Team is easy and should be one of the first thing you or any of your colleagues do to get the most out of Aphex Planner.

To Configure Your Team, navigate to Project Settings (Jump To ↦) and open the Users and Team Tab.

Add and Remove Users from the Your Team section. Once you are done, hit save.

Did you know? If you don't see some of your teammates in the list, you can simply add them by entering their email into the Invite Users section. Aphex Planner will add them to the project.

Your Manager and Delegates

Managers and Delegates are used by Aphex Planner to manage relative permissions across a project. For each user, their Manager has editing rights to their plans. This allows projects to distribute the planning responsibility to the Last Planner ( 😉 ) without loss of control and oversight. Managers can edit, create and delete tasks belonging to their subordinates as well as resolving clashes between their subordinates.

Delegates can be used to temporarily hand over permissions to another user. If users are going on leave or the project has a roster system, user can assign another user as their Delegate. Delegates have all the permissions of the delegator. Be sure to remove the delegates when you get back from leave!

To set your Manager or Delegates, navigate to the Users and Team tab in Project Settings (Jump To ↦).

Select the correct user(s) from the Manager or Delegate section. Once you are done, hit save.

Communication Preferences

To help teams stay on top of their plans and improve productivity, two regular email updates can be sent to each user.

Weekly Insight emails summarise the performance of the previous week and draw attention to strong and weak performers to improve awareness of performance and stoke some friendly competition.

Daily Briefing emails condense each user personal plans for the day as a brief reminder of what the plan has in store.

These emails can be amended on a project by project basis from the Communication tab in Project Settings (Jump To ↦).

Here these emails can be turned off and the date of the Weekly Insight email can be adjusted to match your project's lookahead submission day.

Did this answer your question?